Backwoods forest LVL- Multi player treasure groves. Bad code, bug, or feature?

I am a noob in this coding world, so I may be coding totally wrong. But, in case I am not, perhaps I have come across coding bug?

As I try to set the values of X and Y for my variable for “picking up items,” specifically coins, I get an error message telling me my “undefined is not an object.” However, this is the same technique demonstrated on the video tutorial, so I am very confused and a bit frustrated as to why this code is not working.

Any feedback would be most appreciated.

ps: i have written the x and y value lower case not upper case as shown in the pic, if that is in any case a factor to the problem.

Thanks!

Here is the pic…

Hah…just posted the same thing ten minutes after you. Using JS though, glad to see it’s happening across the board :stuck_out_tongue:

Hope we find a solution.

1 Like

ItemX = item.pos.x

& not
ItemX = itemPos.x

&
ItemX = itemPos.pos.x should also work I think

im sorry what is JS?

hey thanks for your reply,
i updated the code with itemX= item.Pos.x to no avail!

hmmm…

ItemPos is a user defined variable. In python capital letters do matter. So, x & X are different.

POS and Pos are different.

But note that in codecombat, .pos is a pre-defined function. So better avoid confusing names.

I have not tested whether .POS or .Pos works just like .pos

Perhaps you can try and let us know if it works or not.

Also, item.pos actually returns both x and y coordinate. We define such positions like : {“x”: 34, “y”: 72}

to extract x part from item.pos we do item.pos.x

Similarly for y part.

JS - Java Script I think

try small p.

item.pos.x

and not item.Pos.x

If item.pos.x works and item.Pos.x doesn’t, it shows the importance of caps/case

great!

i will talk in very laymen terms because i do not know or conceptualize code efficiently yet.