Cubic Minefield and complete confusion of cubic equations

Alright so I managed somehow to get past the level itself, but I went back into the level after beating it to see all the code that was pre-written. I studied up via the wiki, and a few other sources as to what and how it works (cubic equations that is), and I feel quite lost.

What I think I understand so far is:
the equation looks something like “[b] a^x3 + b^x2 + c^x1 + d = 0[b]”, that “a” can’t be 0 but “b, c, or/and d” could be. I also get that in cubic equations there is use of quadratic equations which I think I’m getting the grasp of quadratic equations, I’ve got the formula down and such just shaky on it yet is all. Lastly, that there are three answers to all cubic equations, which have real roots, and complex roots (which complex roots come in pairs).

The other thing I’m struggling to understand is how its being used in code.

def mult(number, times):
    total = 0
    while times > 0:
        total += number
        times -= 1
    return total

is the example code given to help get an idea for what to do on power from what I understand. Is “mult” defining " * "?

# Don't change the follow code
# You can find coefficients for the equation on the tower
tower = self.findFriends()[0]
a = tower.a
b = tower.b
c = tower.c
d = tower.d
x = hero.pos.x

while True:
    # To find the path use a cubic equation
    y = a * power(x, 3) + b * power(x, 2) + c * power(x, 1) + d * power(x, 0)
    hero.moveXY(x, y)
    x = x + 5

is the pre-written code for what I understand the coefficient’s a,b,c, and d. Using “x” for hero.pos.x so that it is current pos + 5 = x in the code…i think. Is that correct? I was also curious about the coefficient the tower gives, how would I know which numbers where which accordingly based on a character or object?