"Patrol Buster" help?

Hi!

First, thanks so much for Code Combat. I’m working on changing careers by learning how to code. I’m fairly new to coding, so I’m sure there is a simple answer to this question that I’m just not seeing.

On “Patrol Buster”, I wrote a code where the warrior kills each enemy and returns to the center of the map. It works fine, but I keep getting an “Unexpected Token” error. It has to do with “dead”, but the code works. I tried re-writing several different ways using else, elif, and such, but I can’t figure it out. Below is my code, thanks for the help!

loop:
    enemy = self.findNearestEnemy()
    if enemy:
    self.attack(enemy)
    if enemy dead:
    self.moveXY(35, 30)

I’ve also tried if enemy health = 0, same effect.

1 Like

Well, dead enemies aren’t returned by findNearestEnemy, so every “enemy” you see is alive.
When there’s no nearest enemy is because there are no enemies alive on the map, so you can just add an else: instead of if enemy.health == 0:.

1 Like

It still sees a dead enemy as a target, but the target is null. I get an error saying “Target is null, is there always a target to attack?”

I’ve tried different versions of else commands, but I can’t figure out exactly what it’s looking for to stop targeting a dead enemy and move to the next one.

1 Like

You’re using Python which is sensitive to white-space, in order for the if statement to determine whether or not the attack method is called, it needs to be indented properly:

loop:
    if enemy:
        self.attack(enemy)
    else:
        self.moveXY(...)

Otherwise you have:

if enemy:
    # do nothing
self.attack(enemy) #always try to attack the enemy variable.
3 Likes

That fixed it! I didn’t realize indenting was that important. I fixed my indentations and everything ran perfectly.

Thanks very much for your help!

1 Like

It doesnt work!!
I need help, i’m stuck. already finished gems or death.

1 Like