As an experienced programmer, how do you get started with Code Combat

I am new to CodeCombat and obviously the forums, so forgive me if this is posted int he wrong place or anything like that.

I am struggling a little bit with how to play this game. The Javascript isnt what I am struggling with, I know Javascript and general programming concepts well enough already, after all I have a BS in comp sci and develop for a living . What I am trying to learn is how to make my dudes do what I want. I know what I need them to do, I know how to declare methods and variables and flow control and all that, but I have no idea what methods I can call to make them do it. Or even what commands I am limited to.

I have been playing the intro campaign levels today, but some of them I have gotten stuck where it wont let me advance the story even after completing all goals. But usually I have to look at the guide or solution because I dont know what methods I can call. Or when I do know a method idk what data I pass or parameters mean. For instance this.say() on a unit. I can send it a message string and a data bundle, but I have no clue what messages I am limited to or how the data is used. This is an example, not my specific problem.

I feel like I am missing something. What I need is an API to look at, and maybe an introduction to the code combat framework. My Google-fu didnt get me very far with that. I have checked out the Code Combat source to maybe use that to try to figure out what API I have to work with. If nothing like that exists, how did you guys get started?

tldr; How did you get started learning the Code Combat API? Are there any guides or documentation out there I can reference?