Is Kithgaard Mastery possible to complete in the clojure language without the ability to cast to strings?

Posting here first before making a github issue, but as I play through the game again in Clojurescript, when I get to the end of the Kithgaard Dungeon realm I wanted to play the “skip” level as well, Kithgaard Mastery, but am unable to complete it due to lacking a cast functionality in clojurescript.

The my code is at the bottom of this post, but the pertinent parts are:
;; Count how many gems you pick up, and then say the current count when near a fireball trap to disable it.

and

(.say this gems) ;which fails

I am no clojure expert, but I believe clojure requires explicit casting to cast to a string. Since gems is an integer, that expression fails. But there is no cast functionality in any of the equipment received in Kithgaard Mastery.

Is there just something else I’m missing?

;; Count how many gems you pick up, and then say the current count when near a fireball trap to disable it.
;; The raven at the start will give you a password. Say the password near a door to open it.
;; Kill ogres when you get near them.
;; You can use a loop to repeat all of the instructions as needed.
;; If you beat this level, you can skip to the Forest World!
(if (not gems) (def gems 0))
(.moveRight this)
(dotimes [n 2] (.moveUp this))
(dotimes [n 2] (def enemy (.findNearestEnemy this)) (if enemy (.attack this enemy)))
(.moveLeft this)
(dotimes [n 2] (.moveUp this))
(dotimes [n 2] (.moveRight this))
(.moveUp this)
(inc gems)
(.moveDown this)
(.moveRight this)
(dotimes [n 2] (.moveDown this))
(.say this gems)

Generally you can use all language-concepts the language has, at least with some care. For example Pythons list-comprehensions are never actually introduced, but can still be used.

Python list comprehension
melee = [e for e in self.findEnemies() if e.type == "munchkin" or e.type == "scout"]

No clojure-expert, but you might try this method:

(.say this (str gems))