Need help on Harrowland

Hello. I am very new to python and decided to try out using the def function. Here is what I ended up with:

def findHp(edible):
    edible = None
    enemies = hero.findEnemies()
    enemyIndex = 0
    while enemyIndex != len(enemies):
        enemy = enemies[enemyIndex]
        if enemy.health > 100 and enemy.health < 200:
            edible = enemy
            return edible
        enemyIndex += 1
    enemyIndex = 0
        if enemy.health < 200:
            edible = enemy
            return edible

while True:
    enemy = hero.findNearestEnemy()
    mhp = hero.maxHealth
    hp = hero.health
    corpse = hero.findCorpses()
    flag = hero.findFlag("green")
    food = findHp(edible)
    if hero.canCast("summon-undead"):
        hero.cast("summon-undead")
        hero.cast("sacrifice", hero.findNearestFriend(), hero)
    elif hero.canCast("raise-dead"):
        hero.moveXY(41, 33)
        hero.cast("raise-dead")
    elif hp < 200 and food:
        if hero.canCast("invisibility", hero):
            hero.cast("invisibility", hero)
        hero.moveXY(food.pos.x, food.pos.y)
        hero.devour(food)
        hero.say("omnomnom")
    elif hp < (mhp / 10) * 9 and hero.distanceTo(enemy) < 15:
        hero.cast("drain-life", enemy)
    elif hp < mhp / 3:
        hero.cast("drain-life", enemy)

for some reason it doesn’t find the “edible enemy” ( enemy with 100-200 hp or at least less than 200) and drops an error.

Thanks in advance, help with this and ANY other tips would be appreciated (since this is my first couple of weeks on this, I am happy to hear on how I could improve my code).

A couple quick tips. (I didn’t test these though)

When you call the function using a parameter, the parameter needs to be defined before the function. If you won’t be using that parameter directly in your function, you don’t need to set one. I see you look for a new enemy set within the function, so I don’t see a need for the edible parameter.