Py: Error on using a class object as input parameter to a method of another class

I already learned that Python is not real Python here and support of classes is still work in progress.
I tried a little and found, that the basics of Python classes is working.
Now I am trying to pass a non-numerical object of class (C2) to a method M of another class (C1) and get an error, regardless if the object is constructed by the official literal {‘param1’: param1, ‘param2’: param2…} or by using another helper class.
When I move the method M out of the class C1 and make it global, everything works.

Is this use case still in development or is it supposed to work?
If the latter is the case, I’m happy to provide code-examples, otherwise I would be very interested in a workaround…

2 Likes

Curious to know what from python classes is working? Can you post some code with explanation what you’re attempting to achieve. I’m a python noob ( and a javascript also, only a little bit less :slight_smile: ) but despite it I will try to help.
I don’t think this worked 2 years ago in CoCo:

class Car {
  constructor(name, year) {
    this.name = name;
    this.year = year;
  }
  age() {
    let date = new Date();
    return date.getFullYear() - this.year;
  }
}

let myCar = new Car("Toyota", 2014);
console.log("My car is " + myCar.age() + " years old.");

but now the output in the console is:

My car is 7 years old.

or this:

class A {
  constructor() {
    let Obj = new B(this); // Make object of class B
  }
  methodA() // Method to test
  {
    console.log("Hello!");
  }
}

class B {
  constructor(a) //receive class A here in class B
  {
    a.methodA(); // call method of the instance class A
  }
}
let a = new A();

output:

Hello!

Hi, very nice to hear from you again :slight_smile:
I’m working on a response but it will take its time…

Wow, but this is javascript I guess.