To Bug, or not to Bug

Hi all,

New here and loving it!!

I realize this is not the location for logging potential bugs, however, I’m quite new to JavaScript, but a long-time video game bug tester… and so, my brain is a little confused on whether this is actually a bug, or if I do not quite have a deep comprehension yet - so, please forgive me, and any help in understanding if I’m missing something or confirming if it should be added to bug world would be appreciated!!

Game Development 2, Game of Coins Step 4: Power-Ups, JavaScript
Fresh code with no user alterations
Line 95 of code boosts “Knight” attackDamage to 100 for powerPlayerUp.
Line 102 (according to comments) removes the power boost, and returns player to “normal state”
Knight’s default attackDamage parameter is 4.32, not 1

Is this a typo in the supplied code? Or, is this functioning like the player.scale modification (where 1 represents 100%, 2 represents 200%, etc)?

Is the attackDamage in the game a 100x boost when the powerPlayerUp is added (so Knight’s force would be 432)? Or a boo boo?

It seems super knit-picky, and I apologize - it really is that I want to learn the behavior for modifying the default spawn parameters accurately!

Thanks for any info (picture is attached to clarify my confusing explination!)

Sheena

Hi Sheena…welcome to the forum!

I’d not yet started Game Dev 2 and I am taking the Python route, so cannot directly answer your question. I should be at the Step 4 level soon, so may can give some insight. I’m not very proficient in JS, yet, but I can at least read it and get a good idea of what is intended. At the least, we’ll see if the the PY version has a similar ‘bug’.

1 Like

Thanks, I look forward to your thoughts! And, I just noticed I wrote Web Dev instead of Game Dev, so, sorry about that…time for a nap!

No worries…I figured out what you appeared to have meant :smiley:

1 Like