Editing the Colors of Objects in the Level Editor and Other Things

I’m having a blast with the Level Editor. I recently decided to start a four-level series called the “Kelvintaph Prophecy” in which a hero goes on a huge quest to awaken the Kelvintaph Guardian (Kith) and fulfill a 2000-year-old prophecy. Shhh! Totally no spoilers!..ha ha…:smirk: Courtesy to @Chaboi_3000’s level, The Revenge of the Dragon Master (see Kith, an ice guy for more information) for the level inspiration! :clap::clap::clap:

A few questions as I am pretty much a total noob to the Level Editor: I want to recolor an object in the level. To be exact, it’s just a gem that I want to recolor red so it looks like the ruby that Kith wears. Does anyone know how it’s done?

I also plan on having the hero chant a spell to awaken the Guardian. How do you make a thang or doodad item (if it can) react to what a unit says? Also, does anyone know how to replace thangs? For instance, I really liked what they did in “Humantron” where the five units suddenly become a single Humantron, and I want to try recreating that in one of my levels. My idea is that once the hero collects the gem (see above) and says the spell (also see above), the Kith Statue (which is in fact a doodad item, but I plan on it being the cursed form of the Guardian) disappears in a burst of light (vertical laser beam?) and is replaced by the Guardian, once more alive, the curse broken. After that, the Guardian lets out a victorious bellow, which brings me to a new question: How do you make non-player units talk?

Finally, when the player opens the level and plays it, how do I input comments in the code to guide them through? I also want to add a “Hints” section.

I may have more questions soon, but thanks to anyone who can help! :blush: ~^.^~

:dragon: Hellenar :dragon:

2 Likes

Changing the color of thangs is a bit tricky, but in the case of a gem, you can add the display.Colored component, and configure it like: