Has anyone used this at the university level?

Researching this tool for inclusion in a basic programming course. It looks great! Contemplating this as an introductory tutorial just to teach some coding basics before we tackle another platform. Has anyone else tried this tool with college undergraduates? If so, did they find it “too childish” or did they enjoy it? Thanks!!

I’m an undergraduate and thoroughly enjoy CodeCombat, if that helps.
Though, I’ve got over a decade of programming experience, so I may not be part of the target audience. :smile:

1 Like

Thanks, UltCombo! I appreciate your feedback.

I graduated with a BS in CS. Have worked as a professional programmer since '97. I kind of like this site, but really, I wish there were some way to “test out” of the basics. I’m hoping that I am going to get up to some more interesting levels soon, but slogging through all the simple examples where you have to change just one little thing, or put in one function call - whatever. It’s pretty tedious and not very interesting. I think the tool (game) in general could be quite applicable for college level courses if a content track was written aimed at audiences at that level.

Maybe it would be OK as-is for people getting exposed to their very first programming experience, but for anyone that has even a basic programming course under their belt already, I think it is going to feel really slow and tedious, at least for a while.

Just my opinion.

1 Like

Thanks, Hallbjorn. This is my concern as well. I’m teaching a small class of 15 students, and most of them will have very little programming experience. However, there are always a few students who have taken at least one basic programming course. I’m thinking that it might make sense as an initial unit – just for a few days – but not as the primary focus of the class.

Very good points. And indeed, CodeCombat is aimed at people with zero programming knowledge, it starts with the very basics of logic and syntax.