[Survey] Where did you hear about codecombat?

Hello everyone,
I want to get some answers about how you found codecombat, whether you heard it from a friend, found it at HOC code.org, or somewhere else.
Thanks!

17 Likes

I’ve been bouncing around trying a few online courses. While reading an article on the top online coding programs, I ran across a comments post mentioning CodeCombat. While it wasn’t on the article list, he preferred it over many of those on the list gave a brief description. I chased it down and here I am.

9 Likes

My mum found it for me and my brother.
:lion: :lion: :lion:

9 Likes

found it at HOC code.org

I started playing CodeCombat when my third grade teacher, Mr. K, told me to play it for freetime. I found it a lot of fun and eventually started playing more. After playing for awhile, I found the CodeCombat Discourse. It’s been really fun so far. :grinning::grinning::slightly_smiling_face:

7 Likes

It was part of our coding assignments for computer class.

6 Likes

same here back in 5th and 6th grade

5 Likes

The short answer is, word of mouth. I had been teaching my daughter and her class at school coding using code.org and scratch.mit.edu since the first grade. They were now in the third grade and doing very well so I was looking for a way to transition from using blocks of code to actually writing syntax. Code.org and Scratch are good for teaching structure and terminology without getting bogged down in syntax, but it was time to transition. I was at a nerd convention - yes, it was really called the, Space Coast Nerd Fest - and talking to a guy from a local Makerspace about it and he suggested CodeCombat.

6 Likes

I was really looking for a good coding game, so I found Codecombat, which turned out to be a pretty nice game…

9 Likes

Talk Python To Me podcast, Episode #203 I believe. I am enjoying Code combat so far greatly.

8 Likes

Don’t exactly remember, but I believe that I just stumbled upon it.

6 Likes