Constructive, frustrated feedback to employees of the site:

I’m fairly new to this system, but there is already a clear flaw driving me away: the refusal to provide posted answers to common problems.

I’ve noticed more than a few threads where people sought help, attempted to post solutions, and were met with redactions.

I got my first job at 15 driving boats and teaching at a watersports camp. I got second job tutoring one of those families, whose child had autism. The process taught me that teachers need to be responsive to their students.

I completely understand that everyone has their own process, and that students need to be ready to ask for help, but when a student comes to his teacher for help and is instead met with an attitude that can only be described by the consequences it inspires: a week long period in which the student stops working, it’s a problem. It’s about as self-evident as a problem can get: the teacher drove the student away for a week, and the student didn’t learn for that week. An educational company that recognizes that its actions cause learners to disengage for weeks at a time, and yet does nothing, has failed, categorically.

A person posts asking for help; 7 days later they come back and say, “Thanks for trying guys. I didn’t understand what you meant, and it would have been much easier if I could have just worked through it myself, but I figured it out after a week.”

I’ve now wasted my entire night: 6 hours, trying to figure out a simple line of code that is probably correct.