Game performance makes it nearly unplayable. How can I better my performance & prevent freezes?

For me, the game has become pretty consistently unplayable due to slowed performance and freezing.

I’ve been playing for a few months, but gradually the performance has become so bad that I usually can’t get through a full board.

I start playing a level and by the time I get some code running, the browser process will crash (in chrome) or the browser itself will freeze (in firefox).

After google chrome stopped being very usable, I was using Firefox as a secondary browser solely dedicated to codecombat, but after week or two of doing that, the performance now degrades on firefox so quickly that I generally can’t get through a single board before it freezes the browser, freezes or slows down my whole OS (effectively), and generally I have to reboot to get any kind of performance back.

I’m running a Ubuntu 14.04 desktop:

Linux version 3.13.0-62-generic (buildd@lgw01-59) (gcc version 4.8.2 (Ubuntu 4.8.2-19ubuntu1) ) #102-Ubuntu SMP Tue Aug 11 14:29:36 UTC 2015
Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS \n \l
Linux localhostmachine 3.13.0-62-generic #102-Ubuntu SMP Tue Aug 11 14:29:36 UTC 2015 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Chrome

Google chrome Version 44.0.2403.157 (64-bit)

Firefox

Mozilla Firefox 40.0 for Ubuntu

6 gigs of RAM:

free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          5.7G       5.4G       376M       902M        19M       1.3G
-/+ buffers/cache:       4.1G       1.6G
Swap:         9.7G       1.2G       8.5G

Obviously, it’s very hard to give a proper bug report on a problem of this nature, by the time the freeze happens, checking the game console becomes impossible. However, I have made a pastebin of the console of a successful play through a level that crashed, and I then restarted, here:
http://pastebin.com/e6y5Sabg