Python coding question

I understand this is a game site, but is this code really python code? Will this actually help me learn to code other programs not related to games, like web development?

It’s real Python. Programming consists of multiple skills. CodeCombat teaches some of them.

Without knowing about your background in programming it’s impossible to say how much you will learn via CodeCombat.

I’m not a novice or expert, I’m somewhat intermediate. I just began this site, the “loop” cmd or function, I have never seen it used this way:

loop:
    self.moveUp()

This is an infinite loop I believe. I’m use to seeing for and while loops. I’m curious to know why the for loop was not introduced until far later on in learning?

Yes, that is technically an infinite loop.

At code combat there are two kinds of infinite loops…

Those that run forever WITHOUT allowing the whole system to function properly (the bad kind)
and those that run forever but DO let the rest of the system function properly (the good kind).

“while True:” would be an example an example of the bad kind. (sorry, if python is true and not True, I get confused as to which languages are capital booleans and which are small, hurray for editor syntax color/highlighting)

“loop:” is a command added to python (and javascript?) to allow for the good kind.

(one can turn the first type into the happy kind by making sure your hero does an action (say, move nowhere, “self.moveXY(<insert hero’s current x & y coord here>)”) every (couple of) time(s) around the loop…

I believe it is introduced first, so people can get a handle on other things before they have to start worrying about accidentally forgetting to “increment/decrement/change” their loop control variables (and achieving the “good” kind of loop without changing how while/for work.) (We need this for all the languages at code combat.)