First impressions and interface and UX suggestions

Hi everyone, first post here. Sorry, it will be a mess.

So far I really like the game and my sister (who is 10 years old) seems to enjoy it as well.
I have been coding in Lua as a hobby for about 3 years now and I tried to get my sis into trying it as well, but we didn’t really get anywhere with Minecraft and OpenComputers, which is a bit user-unfriendly and arcane for a complete beginner.

This game is quite the contrary. It is engaging, fun and easy to grasp.

But instead of listing everything that works, I want to focus on a few things that don’t work that well.

The Yellow Arrow of Annoyance

• way too big (at least on 1024x768 screen)
  • glowing/pulsing UI elements could do the work just fine
  • the most annoying was when it pointed at the editor from below and blocked out the reference
    White fadeout in main window
  • blocks view unnecessarily
  • alternative: switch the shape/color of the timeline knob-thingy
    Escape
  • exits full screen
  • not sure if there is a workaround besides clicking outside of the active area
    Tips coming up waaay too often
  • my sis was well aware that she mis-spelled the enemy’s name and was in the middle of correcting it, but no matter how often she closed the help notification, it kept coming up after every keystroke
  • soluton: use a timer to see if the user has stopped writing and only activate these pop-ups then
  • compile errors are fine, but
    Plleeease add translated compile error support
  • obviously, L18N reasons too, but
  • also make them more understandable for beginners (although the tips kind of do the same thing, but they seem to be level specific and general for any error)
  • I have already joined the Hungarian diplomat team and I’d be happy to help with the Lua part
    Editor font(s)
  • not very readable on our screen, I know it’s a terrible CRT from the 90’s, but still
  • sizable fonts would be a good solution
    Scrollbar