Where to look things up that I've learned in the past

Hi,
I’m rather new to Codecombat. I’m a teacher and have shown Codecombat to my students, but right now, I’m actually using it to learn to code myself. Going through the levels, I often find myself in the situation of thinking that in this level, I’ll need a method or some knowledge that I’ve already used in a previous level, but can’t remember which level it was, or I have only a general idea what I wanna do but can’t remember the exact name of the thing I’m looking for.
I always carefully read through the hints of each level, and often they don’t contain what I’m looking for.
So I looked for some sort of wiki, compendium, knowledge base etc. for learners where I can just search for pieces of code, a cheat sheet of sorts (similar to this, but containing all the commands, methods, etc.), just something to help me remember how that thing worked that I used in a previous level.
Is there any such thing here on Codecombat?

1 Like

I have a pastebin account that I use for that. My daughter and I both paste chunks of code there that we use repeatedly. I got it on sale around Christmas time for really cheap. Look for great deals around any holiday. With a lifetime, paid account I can secure it (free accounts on pastebin and github are public and I won’t publically post completed game code). Also, I have a screenshot of every level I’ve ever completed separated by campaign so if I recall having done something before I can click through the jpg’s and find what I’m looking for. My daughter is a campaign behind where I am and it’s very useful to have these levels saved and available. Also, I have uploaded this for easy access to game levels.

4 Likes

Nice stuff :slight_smile:

1 Like

You have yourself a nifty solution there. Also, thanks for the link to your levels table!